Resa W.

$16.00 / hr

I'm a 47 year old, mother of a college age daughter, and an eight year old son. I have cared primarily for several family members. My first experience with providing care was in 1994. My older sister was diagnosed with cancer . I took care of her during Her treatment, Sadly, the treatments failed to heal her. I then saw her through the last 6 months of her life. Then , my mom was diagnosed with small celllung cancer in 2004. I also cared for her during treatment, then through out the last few month of her life. Also cared for my father from 2012-2014. He had congestive heart failure in May of 2014. I'm currently caring for my mother in law , She has had several back surgeries due to falls. I assist with her physical therapy and memory exercises. She was recently diagnosed with dementia. I take care of most of her general needs. Grooming, bathing, meals, grocery shopping, setting appointments. Transportation, house keeping. I also care for her dog and a cat. I love taking care of others. There is nothing more rewarding as helping those who can not take care of themselves. We will all need someone to care for us eventually . I care for people in the manor which I hope to be treated when my time comes for such a need. I'm currently caring for my Husband's parents but, in need of a second income to support our family. I share part of responsibility with his sister. I'm only available for approximately 12 to 18 hours per week. My availability is as follows. Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, 6pm to 11pm. Not available on Wednesdays. Also available any time on weekends. If my schedule fits the needs of your family, please contact me. Thank you! Resa Wheeler ... more

Caregiving Services
logo
  • Jobs I'm seeking
    Part Time
    Short Term
    Weekend Live-In
    Holiday Shifts
    Live-out

    Caregivers that work non-full-time jobs or irregular shifts can negotiate extra compensation in addition to their standard hourly wage.

logo
  • Hourly rate
    $16.00Wages
    $5.46Taxes & Fees
    $21.46You pay
verification

Background checked

Work
default-image

Care provider/ Houskeeper

Private care

Mar 2014 - Sep 2018

I'm currently caring for my in laws . Primarily my husbands mother. Her mobility is extremely limited. I get her out of bed, assist with bathing , brushing teeth,all grooming needs. Cook meals on a daily basis. Assist her with physical therapy exercises . I work with her on her memory by engaging her in conversation and looking at photo albums. Play memory games .shes in the early stages of dementia . This is my first experience wi th Dementia. I also clean , do laundry , administer medications . Grocery shop , schedule appointments. I take care of most of her general needs and wants . My service is no longer necessary for them. They both reached the decision to move into an assisted care community.while I am more than capable of caring for the both of them.The house is surrounded by overgrown vegetation and the inside desperately needs some repairs. I'm very happy that I have been able to help them remain in their own home until they become ready for the changes that exist within a location and lifestyle change. ... more

default-image

Home care assitant

Naiomi Lopez/private home care

Jul 2018 - Aug 2018

Provided basic home care for Mr. Lopez while he was recovering from surgery. Meal prep, assist with bathing. Housekeeping, grocery shopping.

Certifications / Licenses
certification

Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR)

Education
default-image

Physiology/ Critical Thinking

2001 - Present Redwood City CA

default-image

Fremont Adult & Continuing Education

General Education

2000 - Present Fremont CA

default-image

CareAcademy

Care provider

2018 - 2018

logo

CareAcademy courses on CareLinx

Sep 2018: Being a Professional Caregiver on CareLinx