Joni C.

$15.00 / hr

In the picture I am the driver, the older lady next to me is who I was a live-in caregiver to for 3.5 years, in total I care for her nearly 6 years.I have been a caregiver all my life. I took care of my siblings as I was the oldest of seven. In my 20"s I worked at a hospital in Marshfield WI as a transporter taking pt to their therapies such as PT, OT, radiation, xray and nuc med. On weekends I would help in the PT department, setting the pt up for their treatment. I would set pt up on heat, traction, whirlpool, standby assist for walking and usually when I would go to pick pt up from their rooms the me dical staff were busy so I would do transfers alone. Because of personal reasons I left the area. I later went to work for a temp agency as a nursing assistant in Milwaukee WI. I worked on all floors, even CCU, ICU, once I did a one on one with a neonatal. I worked on rehab most of the time. I decided to move back to CO and worked at Penrose Hospital on the med surg floor, as a NA then I was certified. I did get out of the medical field for quite sometime, let my certification lapse. I started working for myself as a house cleaner. That is how I met Louise. Was asked if I could help her out and one thing led to another and became her caregiver. She got to the point where she wasn't able to stay by herself. I then was asked if I would live with her and cared for her until she passed at home. We had hospice for the last three months. I enjoy people and they seem to enjoy me. ... more

Caregiving Services
logo
  • Jobs I'm seeking
    Either live-in or live-out

    Caregivers that work non-full-time jobs or irregular shifts can negotiate extra compensation in addition to their standard hourly wage.

logo
  • Hourly rate
    $15.00Wages
    $4.79Taxes & Fees
    $19.79You pay
Work
default-image

caregiver

Louise Le Roy

Dec 2006 - Dec 2012

I was living with Louise until she passed.I did daily living care for her. Personal care, cooked, cleaned the house, did yard work. Taking her to Dr appointments, making sure she got her meds, checking blood sugar levels.She liked to go for rides in her car, out to eat, visit friends.I did everything for her, she didn't have close family.

Skills and Expertise
logo