bingBarbara E. | Professional Caregiver in Hickory, NC | CareLinx
Barbara E.

Barbara E.

$18.00 / hr

Hickory, NC

Hire Barbara
save jobAdd to Favorites

About Barbara

I began my career in caregiving several years ago when I left my career in nonprofit management to provide FT care for my mother, Julia. She was 75 and dealing with congestive heart failure, COPD, dementia and other chronic medical conditions. After she passed, I began offering care for other families. Presently, I provide companionship care two days a week for a family with two senior adults, one (female, age 88) with mid-stage dementia and the other (male, age 77) with ALS. I also provide companionship care two to three days a week for a senior (female, age 80) with early stage dementia. I also provide PRN (as needed) care for a senior (female, age 94) with late stage dementia. I am very comfortable working with adults experiencing dementia, alzheimers and/or other chronic illnesses. I enjoy building relationships that help keep the adults I care for as happy and healthy as possible while remaining in their own homes. If you feel I may be a good fit for your loved one, I am very interested in learning more about your needs and would be happy to talk with you on the phone or meet with you in person.

Caregiving Services & Expertise


  • Medication Reminders
  • Meal Prep
  • Groceries & Shopping
  • Exercise
  • Transportation
  • Housekeeping
  • Companionship

Job Interests

  • Full Time
  • Part Time
  • Short Term

Caregivers that work non-full-time jobs or irregular shifts can negotiate extra compensation in addition to their standard hourly wage.

Skills & Expertise

  • ALS
  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • Arthritis
  • Cancer Recovery
  • COPD
  • Dementia
  • Depression
  • Diabetes
  • Home Health Care
  • Hospice Care
  • Orthopedic Care
  • Palliative Care
  • Post Surgery Recovery
  • Senior Care
  • Elder Care
  • Home Care


  • English

Experience & Education

Private Duty in-home Caregiver

Aug 2015 - Present
Self Employed
I provide companionship care, medication management and prompting, nutrition-based meal preparation (I love to cook!) and transportation assistance to medical appointments, grocery stores, Rx pick-ups and/or running errands as needed. I assist, as appropriate, with social interaction and physical activities to promote wellness. I also help with light housekeeping including laundry, vacuuming and general cleaning and straightening. Also, I love animals and will happily provide care for any pets in the home.
Aug 2015 - Present

Lenoir-Rhyne University

Jan 1986 - Jan 1990
Hickory, NC
Jan 1986 - Jan 1990
Return to top

More Caregivers You Might Like

Find the Right Caregiver at CareLinx

CareLinx home care services include housekeeping, transportation, meal preparation, shopping, medication reminders, mobility assistance, bathing, toileting, grooming, dressing, exercise, companionship and more. Compared to traditional agencies, our caregiver services include four distinct advantages.

1. Preferred, high-quality care: CareLinx customers prefer our care over competitors’ by a factor of 10 to 1. You get to choose and interview the caregiver, resulting in a better match and higher quality care.

2. Uniquely affordable: as an online caregiver network with low overhead and zero markups on caregiver pay, our prices are up to 50 percent less than traditional senior care agencies.

3. Care advocates: our direct-hire model gives caregivers higher wages and flexible schedules, and consumers low prices. Everyone gets a better quality of life.

4. Peace of mind: in-home caregivers are background checked and technology-enabled to give you visibility and transparency in the home. Our app provides GPS clock-ins clock-outs, real-time secure messaging, and personalized digital care plan.

Sign Up
Learn More