Showing 1-15 of 74 caregivers found
A caregiver of seven years trained to handle a variety of health and behavioral situations, I am aware of the impulse of families to want to ensure the health and well-being of loved ones. The help may just call for daily living activities with extra touches that make life worthwhile: decent exercise, tasty healthy meals, a clean, pleasant environment, a good listener and conversationalist, and kind, competent care. Some situations, however, require attending to seemingly insignificant, but crucial tasks, such as reminders to drink enough liquids, to move body and limbs periodically to avoid pressure points and muscle atrophy. I believe my care is dispensed with respect, kindness, and purpose, mindful their need for such greater than ever. A general "How are you?" might be followed with a specific "Do you feel dizzy",; and too long a spell on the couch will suggest an exercise or outside to smell the roses. The idea, above all, is to provide for the well-being of body and soul. A wise tip I learned is to give old people something to look forward to, whether a fun treat or an item in their bucket list. It may not always be possible, but sometimes, even just trying helps. My career history is eclectic, but caregiving suits me because I believe I make a difference in the lives of those in my care; more often than not, the tables are turned to make me pay attention. I consider my charges' health and well-being challenges, such as easing a cynic's attitude with kindness or making one's last days a comfort. By researching and learning about their ailments before I take over, I make certain I "do no harm". I have gained hands on and annual online training from Home Health Aide courses and nurse delegated work. An energetic, resourceful worker, I offer empathy, kindness, and a bright outlook. They are what I gave my mom, now lovingly sent off to join dad, with plenty to spare for others.
I had to take care of my own parents when they both required extensive home care due to Alzheimers and learned then how vital it is to fully understand these afflications and how to deal with them for the best quality of life and dignity and comfort of those elderly. I enjoy interacting with those that have lived long and interesting lives and I recognize the need to return the help and care to them after they have spent a lifetime helping others. I especially enjoy interacting with the family of those elders that I care for and providing appropriate assistance to them also in regards dealing with their elderly relatives and the end of life situations that occur. I have personally dealt with over 15 hospice situations and made the end of life transition smooth and dignified and compassionate for all involved. I have found that through improving the quality and enjoyment of daily life for elderly that they simply do better and enjoy living. No matter what the circumstances, and no matter how far gone they are, they still respond to care and love and appropriate attention and return such in whatever way they are still able to. I spent most of my life working in construction in all trades and all levels up to Management and Supervision. I retired from that sort of physical activity due to some aggravated injuries and found that there is a vast need for compassionate and understanding care and assistance needed for elderly. Since I am not so far removed from the elderl
I would be a great addition to your care team. I have a lot of experience with caregiving, nannying, and customer service. In 2010, I assisted a woman (52) who was thought to have epilepsy, and later was diagnosed with brain cancer. I worked with her and her family on and off for about two years. Prior to and following that experience, I nannied for various families, with various ages and numbers of children, some of whom had disabilities. Currently, I am a caregiver for a male (36) quadriplegic and a female (24) with Spinal Muscular Atrophy Type 2. I also have experience working for a female (24) who suffered a traumatic brain injury, and a male (60) brain cancer patient who suffered a stroke as a complication. I have been caregiving for over 5 years now. I have plans to begin nursing school in 2017 and am currently finishing up my last pre-requisites. I am looking for a position where I can utilize my skills working closely with an individual, part time or a split shift schedule, which will give the opportunity to expand my experience, skills, and knowledge in an additional caregiving position. I am dependable, reliable, attentive, confident, organized, composed, committed, honest, trustworthy, detail oriented, responsible, respectful, mature, good at multi-tasking, and open to learning new things. I have excellent patience, communication, and quick learning skills as a result of working in different environments and with varying people. I have a flexible schedule and adapt well to different needs and requirements. I am well qualified with the diverse qualities I possess.
what are your personality traits that help you be a great caregiver? Some personality traits that make me a great caregiver are my abilities to communicate well with the people I am taking care of and to ensure I am doing my best in taking care of the person. Additionally, I work hard to be patient as a caregiver so that the interactions I have with the persons go smoothly. I also try my best to empathize with the people I am taking care of in that way I make them feel welcome and appreciated, I also try my best to pay attention to little details in case a problems occurs I can identify it ahead of time and communicate with other people to try and resolve the problem. What attracted you to being a caregiver? What attracted me to becoming a caregiver it the opportunity I would have to nurture for other people. I enjoy helping people and this was an opportunity to take care of people. What do you enjoy most about being a caregiver? What I enjoy most about being a caregiver are the conversations I can sometimes have with the people I am taking care of (if their medical situations allows). Most of the elderly are in vulnerable positions, having others take care of them, and It is important to have someone they can trust and talk to. I learn so much from the elderly and they learn about me and my cultural background, if they ask. What is a personal achievement you are proud of? Some of the personal achievements I am proud of include being thanked by family members for the work I am doing. About me: My name is Abigail Haile and I have been a caregiver for over ten years, I have experience in Adult family homes, senior living centers, care giving agencies and I have been a caregiver for all age groups and people with various medical conditions including disabilities.
I am a WA state licensed home care aide (HCA) with NAR certification for nurse-delegated tasks. I have experience in dementia care, diabetes management, colostomy care, in-home rehab exercises, respite care, transfers and assist in ADLs. I can also do errands and light chores including pet care. I own and drive a reliable personal vehicle to go to work and I will be prepared to drive clients to appointments and outings in their own private vehicles. I have a perfect driving record. I also have experience in operating almost all common home care medical equipment, O2 tanks, CPAP machines, lifts, nebulizers, blood glucose testing kits, and blood pressure kits among others. I can also manage non-sterile wound care such as pressure sores. I am prepared and willing to manage and facilitate communication between care team members, medical and healthcare professionals. I can also set up medical appointments, emergency care and transportation, organize medications and changes in prescriptions, file medical records for on-going healthcare reference. I am people-oriented and professional in conduct and appearance and I work with utmost confidentiality and will be prepared to sign NDAs if required. I currently look after morning and evening care for two quadriplegic gentlemen, one started attending UW this fall semester and another is a neighbor in West Seattle. I am male, just turned 50 this year, of mixed Asian heritage, I am university educated in the Philippines and a practicing Catholic at the St. James Parish in Seattle. I am seeking a part-time live-out position.