Melissa M.

$14.00 / hr

I'm a great caregiver because I can go with the flow with what people need and want in their lives. I'm really just there to help achieve that. I've worked in mental health and caregiving for over five years. I enjoy this line of work because my clients continue to keep me kind hearted and open minded. I'm a good cook and I like to clean too!

Caregiving Services
logo
  • Jobs I'm seeking
    Full Time
    Part Time
    Overnight
    Holiday Shifts
    Live-out

    Caregivers that work non-full-time jobs or irregular shifts can negotiate extra compensation in addition to their standard hourly wage.

logo
  • Hourly rate
    $14.00Wages
    $4.47Taxes & Fees
    $18.47You pay
verification

Background checked

Work
default-image

Mental Health Tech

Quality Care Options

Jan 2017 - Present

I am a contractor for an employment agency in the mental health field. I provide direct support to clients with mental health issues and physical/mental disabilities such as dementia, Alzheimer's. Responsibilities changed depending on the clients' needs, but often included ensuring clients' safety, assisting with ADL's, completing progress reports, offering companionship and emotional support, and assistance with life tasks, such a s applying for disability or jobs. (This job is based out of Pennsylvania and I only work now when I travel back to Philadelphia. ) ... more

default-image

Caregiver/home companion

Carelinx

Aug 2017 - Nov 2017

Helping complete daily tasks like meal prep and household chores, providing transportation, and keeping client safe. Also remaining available for conversation and coming up with ideas for fun things to so like walks and watching client's favorite TV shows or reading books together.

default-image

Home Aide/Babysitter

Family Care for Children

Jan 2017 - Apr 2017

During a brief 4 month stay in Philadelphia, I worked part time for a family as a babysitter for their two boys, ages 3 and 4. Duties included providing educational activities for the boys, including art projects, reading books, and adventures outside, preparing meals, and maintaining cleanliness of the house. One main goal of this position was to prepare the children for homeschooling by structuring their days with immersive and creative tasks. It was an extremely pleasant, eye-opening, and rewarding experience. ... more

Lead Weekend Mental Health Tech

Women of Hope

Mar 2013 - Jul 2015

Women of Hope was a residential facility for homeless, mentally ill women, most of whom were in their 50s to 60s. I began as a substitute worker and was promoted to Lead Weekend Tech. My main responsibilities were to ensure the safety of the residents by completing hourly rounds, administer medications, provide assistance with ADLs such as washing laundry, cooking meals and cleaning, provide emotional support when needed, and compl ete progress notes. I also facilitated activities and groups. ... more

default-image

Intern/Transcriber

Main Line Center for the Family

Oct 2010 - May 2012

I was offered the opportunity to intern with a well-known psychiatrist and was given the responsibility of rewriting and structuring intake evaluations of new patients. Occasionally I provided direct peer support to patients when appropriate.

default-image

Barista/Prep Chef/Head Chef's Assistant

Cafe con Chocolate

Aug 2008 - Jul 2011

This was my first job as a teenager and I began at this multi-ethnic restaurant/cafe as a barista, quickly being promoted to prep chef and then being given even more responsibility to manage food inventory, opening and closing the restaurant independently, training new staff members, and promoting and organizing special events.

Certifications / Licenses
certification

Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR)

Education
default-image

La Salle University

Clinical Counselling

2015 - 2016

default-image

Psychology

2011 - 2014 West Chester PA

Liberal Arts

2008 - 2011 Philadelphia PA