Diane A.

$18.00 / hr

I began caregiving because I like people, I like meeting all kinds of people and I am very adaptable. I enjoy being of service in the many ways that can contribute to the well being of someone in need. I have worked with several young women to help them see the future when the past was so bleak. One young woman who was in a group home is now out in the world working a regular job, has an appartment and a roommate. On the other end of the spectrum, I have been working with an elderly woman who after a stroke had no hope. Her memory and physical condition were dragging her downward and she was very depr essed. I first got her back on track with a healthy diet, with less carbs, more vegetables and protein she became stronger physically to the point where we could do light exercises. Now she can get up and down from sitting more easily and has more strengh getting around with her walker. We were able to get out and walk longer. She is now able to shop all the way around big stores like Safeway without any problem. My clients mood has elevated because of her new mobile capabilities. This made her want to put on make-up, jewelry and so on. In trying to learn more about who she was, I asked about her past which she was comfortably able to describe. After several weeks of this she became more confident about her memory. Her drive to be the woman she was before her stroke at 88 years old, brought her to where she is now. She calls her friends to go out to lunch. ... more

Caregiving Services
logo
  • Jobs I'm seeking
    Live-out

    Caregivers that work non-full-time jobs or irregular shifts can negotiate extra compensation in addition to their standard hourly wage.

logo
  • Hourly rate
    $18.00Wages
    $6.13Taxes & Fees
    $24.13You pay
verification

Background checked

Work
default-image

Caregiver

Alegre

May 2015 - Aug 2015

General Caregiving to a 74 yr old gentleman with Parkinsons/Lou Gehrigs disease. Feeding, transfering, mobility/exercise, toileting, companionship.

default-image

Caregiver

Alegre

Jun 2015 - Jun 2015

Cooking only, for a 54 yr. old man with Melanoma, 4 hrs. meal prep for 1 weeks worth of meals.

default-image

Caregiver

Senior Helpers

Nov 2014 - Apr 2015

Caregiver to husband and wife in their home. From dawn to dusk daily chores, meals, medication reminders, light housework, companionship, shopping and errands.

default-image

Owner/Designer

Multiple Threads

Jan 2010 - Jan 2015

I owned and operated a boutique in Berkeley which carried over 35 local artists and designers work on consignment. I also designed and sewed my clothing line in the store during working hours. I had several employees. My website: www.multiplethreads.org

default-image

Part-time house manager

Cedars of Marin

May 2006 - Dec 2008

Managed every aspect of house hold of 5 female roommates with disabilities. Including food shopping, cooking, sched. Medications and mentoring.

Education
default-image

Women's Innitiative

Small Business Start-up 11 week intensive

2008 - 2008

default-image

Community College of the Fingerlakes

AAS

1974 - 1976