Mary R.

$15.00 / hr

I have always felt a deep connection to the elderly, possibly due to the very close relationship I had with my dear grandfather, PawPaw. As he aged and his health declined, I became more and more involved in his life, and in helping my mother care for her father. PawPaw enriched my life and all of those around him, with his storytelling and wise advice. When my friends ask why I decided to become a senior companion, I tell them about him. I became a certified Home Health Aide about nine years ago, when my children were grown and leaving the nest. After working briefly for an agency, I became self emp loyed, which allows me to pass a savings down to my clients. As a companion, I offer transportation to appointments and shopping, help with correspondence and organization, as well as motivation to eat a healthy diet and exercise according to your health care provider's plan. I can also assist with medication management and make sure that you have prescriptions refilled in a timely fashion. I also assist with bathing and dressing, among many other tasks. I consider myself to be patient, kind, trustworthy, cheerful, compassionate, and a great listener. In my free time, I enjoy baking, gardening, DIY projects, walking, reading, learning to play golf, volunteering and spending time with my family. I am the very proud mother of two sons, 26 and 29, and a daughter, who is 28. I live east of the interstate, off of Proctor Rd. and I'm willing to drive up to 15 miles. ... more

Caregiving Services
logo
  • Jobs I'm seeking
    Live-out

    Caregivers that work non-full-time jobs or irregular shifts can negotiate extra compensation in addition to their standard hourly wage.

logo
  • Hourly rate
    $15.00Wages
    $4.97Taxes & Fees
    $19.97You pay
verification

Background checked

Education
default-image

Home Health Aide Certification

2008 - 2008 Sarasota FL

BA Home Economics/Textile Science

1979 - 1283 Tallahassee FL