bingKatie D. | Professional Caregiver in Santa Fe, NM | CareLinx
Katie D.

Katie D.

$16.00 / hr

Santa Fe, NM

Message
Hire Katie
save jobAdd to Favorites

About Katie

I originally relocated to Santa Fe with my husband in 2007. It was part pre-retirement and also to move closer to his aging mother. I tried out a career with the TSA, but ultimately found it unrewarding. I changed careers 2 years ago to help an elderly friend. She is on a State Medicaid waiver, and had been unable to find a good fit through an agency. The agency caregivers where not allowed to care for her cat, so I came by to clean the cat box. She has no family, so a group of friends helped her get onto a self-directed waiver. I had found that working with elderly and disabled passengers was the most rewarding part of the job I was working at the airport, and was ready for a change. I am particularly proud of the work I do with this fiercely independent lady. I make all her doctor's appointments and transport her, and make sure all the paperwork for her multiple public assistance programs is filled out correctly and submitted in a timely manner. We enjoy shopping trips and going out for lunch. Since then I have also worked doing respite care and housekeeping/handywoman jobs independently. My first private client was residing at an assisted living home, but was requiring more attention than her family or the staff could provide. She was advancing in her Parkinson's disease, becoming more confused and needing help with toileting and ambulation. I ultimately helped the family find an appropriate memory care home for her. My current Carelinx client lives out in the countryside, so I help with a lot of outdoor tasks like cleaning her horse's corral and gardening. I do a lot of driving, taking her into town for doctor's appointments, Horse Therapy and shopping. I do a lot of appointment setting, help her balance her checking account, order her meds and fill the pill boxes.

Caregiving Services & Expertise

Services

  • Bathing
  • Dressing & Grooming
  • Toileting
  • Medication Reminders
  • Meal Prep
  • Groceries & Shopping
  • Transferring & Mobility
  • Exercise
  • Transportation
  • Housekeeping
  • Companionship

Job Interests

  • Part Time
  • Short Term

Caregivers that work non-full-time jobs or irregular shifts can negotiate extra compensation in addition to their standard hourly wage.

Skills & Expertise

  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • Arthritis
  • Cardiovascular Disorders
  • Dementia
  • Depression
  • Diabetes
  • Home Health Care
  • Hospice Care
  • Neurological Disorders
  • Orthopedic Care
  • Parkinson's Disease
  • Post Surgery Recovery
  • Renal and Urological Disorders
  • Stroke
  • Vision and Eye Disorders
  • Senior Care
  • Elder Care
  • Home Care

Languages

  • English

Experience & Education

Caregiver

Jan 2014 - Sep 2016
CareLinx
I work part time for a wonderful lady who has some memory and ambulation issues. My most important task has been helping her fill her pill organizer. I drive her to appointments (physical therapy, doctors) and to go shopping. I also do some light housekeeping, organizing and appointment setting. She lives in the country and has a horse, which I help her care for. I also got her into a Therapeutic Riding program, where she is learning to ride again safely. One of her goals is to ride her own horse again someday.
Jan 2014 - Sep 2016

Caregiver

Jul 2013 - Sep 2016
Silverado Personal Care LLC
I provided companionship and personal care to my first client, who has Parkinson’s Disease. I assured that assisted living staff provided care and medication in a timely manner and assisted her family with selection and placement of client in memory care home. • I assisted a second client, who is chronically ill, with moving tasks, including following specific packing and unpacking instructions. I provided emotional support, and installed a closet rod and gate latch at her new home. • This year I have helped additional clients with re-potting plants, meal preparation, light housekeeping, and companionship.
Jul 2013 - Sep 2016

Caregiver

Apr 2013 - Jun 2014
Winona Nava
Light house keeping, laundry, transportation, help with bathing, cooking and diabetes care.
Apr 2013 - Jun 2014

Santa Fe Community College

Sep 2012 - May 2013
Sep 2012 - May 2013

Transportation Security Officer

Jan 2008 - Mar 2013
Transportation Security Administration/DHS
• Guided elderly and disabled passengers through the security screening process • Volunteered to provide non-required assistance to passengers in need • Assisted management with time sensitive paperwork requirements and supply orders
Jan 2008 - Mar 2013

Administrative Assistant/Receptionist

Sep 2007 - Jan 2008
Marcia Owen Associates
Greeted clients in Private Client Services office of large local bank. Answered phones and took messages, produced mass mailings, provided clerical support to brokers.
Sep 2007 - Jan 2008

Fish Hatchery Specialist

Jan 1983 - Aug 2007
Washington State Dept of Fish and Wildlife
• Entrusted to single-handedly operate a salmon hatchery for days at a time • Cleaned ponds and troughs, calculated dietary requirements including medicated feeds • Maintained visitor room, explained fishing regulations and did tours and talks with groups of all ages
Jan 1983 - Aug 2007

Peninsula Community College, Port Angeles WA

Sep 1981 - Jun 1983
Sep 1981 - Jun 1983

Reviews (1)

StarStarStarStarStar
September 2017
Bror H.
verified ReviewVerified Review
Thanks Katie
Return to top
Message
Hire Katie

More Caregivers You Might Like

Maria D.

Maria D.

$25.00/hour · Santa Fe, NM
My name is Maria Dozier, am a 43 year old Hispanic educated woman. I've been married 18yrs and have been with my husband for almost 26 yrs. We have 3 beautiful children ages 25, 17 and 12. I live my life for my children and making sure that they are taken care of and brought up correctly. We moved to Santa Fe, NM almost 11 yrs ago. Til now I hadn't looked for work because I needed to be at home with my children. But now that their getting older I'd like to have a job. I have perfect transportation and am very reliable. I speak Spanish and English and am very resourceful and respectful when it comes to patient confidentiality.
View Profile
Janese C.

Janese C.

$19.00/hour · Santa Fe, NM
HI, I'm an independent caregiver providing Non-Medical Homecare, companionship and personal assistance “I want to provide older adults with quality care that enables them live happier, healthier lives at home”. I have a Master’s Degree in Marriage and Family Counseling. For the past 25 years I’ve assisted many families by becoming their “partner in Care” through the myriad of challenges and opportunities’ in aging today.
View Profile

Find the Right Caregiver at CareLinx

CareLinx home care services include housekeeping, transportation, meal preparation, shopping, medication reminders, mobility assistance, bathing, toileting, grooming, dressing, exercise, companionship and more. Compared to traditional agencies, our caregiver services include four distinct advantages.

1. Preferred, high-quality care: CareLinx customers prefer our care over competitors’ by a factor of 10 to 1. You get to choose and interview the caregiver, resulting in a better match and higher quality care.

2. Uniquely affordable: as an online caregiver network with low overhead and zero markups on caregiver pay, our prices are up to 50 percent less than traditional senior care agencies.

3. Care advocates: our direct-hire model gives caregivers higher wages and flexible schedules, and consumers low prices. Everyone gets a better quality of life.

4. Peace of mind: in-home caregivers are background checked and technology-enabled to give you visibility and transparency in the home. Our app provides GPS clock-ins clock-outs, real-time secure messaging, and personalized digital care plan.

Sign Up
Learn More