Laura R.

$15.00 / hr

Hello! My name is Laura Roberts, and I first started doing in-home care in 1987. My husband, then of 7 years, had left me with two little girls, while he was out doing whatever it is husbands do when they choose drugs over their family. He did go to rehab in the fall of that year, so while he was in a facility, I went to work for two different home health agencies here in TX. ( Wes did not want me working so when he came home, I once more was a stay at home mother and wife.) Then in 1996, we separated. Six months later, I was a divorced woman seeking employment at age 35. Most all my employment has been in the medical field ever since. I have worked in nursing homes, home health, and in the rehab department in the DeQueen, AR Regional Medical Center. I now have a 15 year old daughter, whom I am raising by myself. I am employment through Red River Home Health with one client through the week-16 hours, and one client on week-ends-6 and a half hours. I barely make minimum wage. I need more clients and more pay. (I truly enjoy my line of work, but it is hard to make ends meet; especially supporting my precious teenage daughter solely on my own. I was raised in beautiful AR, an only girl, with three brothers. I have always taken care of different ones, and like I stated before; this is what I do; care for others. :) Caring for others is very rewarding. I love listening and learning from our older citizens. ... more

Caregiving Services
logo
  • Jobs I'm seeking
    Live-out

    Caregivers that work non-full-time jobs or irregular shifts can negotiate extra compensation in addition to their standard hourly wage.

logo
  • Services
logo
  • Hourly rate
    $15.00Wages
    $4.97Taxes & Fees
    $19.97You pay