Showing 1-15 of 116 caregivers found
Hi! My name is Rosanna. I had been a Caregiver for 9 yrs now. For years of doing this, I had no regret and I felt happier taking care of elderly people and or people who are sick, people who needs someone to assist them on their activities of their day to day living, to have a companion, to help them out if they are limited to some physical mobility or activities and be a tool to help them recover of their sickness and live their lives happily and dignified as they grow older. In this kind of work, I have learned how to be MORE understanding, patient and MORE compassionate. Elderly and sick people are so delicate in a way, because when people are already old and or are sick, they surely are too sensitive and they have to be treated with great care. All of us will experience these in the stage of our lives (being old or getting sick) and for me, I just want to treat people the way I want to be treated when my turn comes. Of all the years I had been doing this job, I had gathered and learned different kinds of experiences in the process, which helped me to do my job better and more effectively. The best rewards I get from this job are....... There are times when family of the person I took care of treated me like I'm part of the family already on the time I'm taking care of the client and even after the time the client had already passed away and this is one of the best feelings. When clients and their families would give good feedback in my agencies letting them know how satisfied and happy they were on how I took care of their loved one. These kinds of accomplishments that you can't find in a job in front of a computer and those appreciations and good responses that are more valuable and priceless than money. All of these put together, I would say that my job is not just work. It takes a lot of compassion and an honest performance of your duties and responsibilities to be an effective one and I'm proud to be a Caregiver!
I'm a 47 year old, mother of a college age daughter, and an eight year old son. I have cared primarily for several family members. My first experience with providing care was in 1994. My older sister was diagnosed with cancer . I took care of her during Her treatment, Sadly, the treatments failed to heal her. I then saw her through the last 6 months of her life. Then , my mom was diagnosed with small celllung cancer in 2004. I also cared for her during treatment, then through out the last few month of her life. Also cared for my father from 2012-2014. He had congestive heart failure in May of 2014. I'm currently caring for my mother in law , She has had several back surgeries due to falls. I assist with her physical therapy and memory exercises. She was recently diagnosed with dementia. I take care of most of her general needs. Grooming, bathing, meals, grocery shopping, setting appointments. Transportation, house keeping. I also care for her dog and a cat. I love taking care of others. There is nothing more rewarding as helping those who can not take care of themselves. We will all need someone to care for us eventually . I care for people in the manor which I hope to be treated when my time comes for such a need. I'm currently caring for my Husband's parents but, in need of a second income to support our family. I share part of responsibility with his sister. I'm only available for approximately 12 to 18 hours per week. My availability is as follows. Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, 6pm to 11pm. Not available on Wednesdays. Also available any time on weekends. If my schedule fits the needs of your family, please contact me. Thank you! Resa Wheeler